Created in the fifteenth century, the monastery was abolished in the nineteenth century switching to private hands. The set of buildings has undergone extensive renovation and expansion between the fifteenth and twentieth centuries. Adapted for some time as palatial residence of the Dukes of Bragança, São Marcos is presently under the tutelage of the University of Coimbra. Due to its exceptional rich heritage, the church is classified as a National Monument. In the church, highlighted by a set tomb dating from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries: Tomb of Fernão Teles de Meneses, dated 1481, and tomb of João da Silva e Aires da Silva, designed by the sculptor Diogo Pires-o-Moço.